You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Wests Tigers captain Aaron Woods has been named in the Australia Kangaroos team to take on New Zealand in the 2017 ANZAC Test match on Friday, May 5.

The final mid-season Test match between the two sides will take place at GIO Stadium as New Zealand look to respond from their 2016 Four Nations final defeat to the Kangaroos.

Coach Mal Meninga has named a strong team for next week's match, five Club captains included in the squad, as well as a number of other experienced representative forwards. 

Darius Boyd holds his spot at fullback ahead of Billy Slater and James Tedesco, while Valentine Holmes, Josh Dugan, Will Chambers and Blake Ferguson take the remaining backline spots.

Jonathan Thurston has been named at halfback despite coming into the Test under an injury cloud, with Sharks playmaker James Maloney on standby in the team as 19th man.

Woods will start in the front row alongside David Klemmer, as they did throughout the Four Nations, with Boyd Cordner and Matt Gillett in the back row and Trent Merrin at lock.

Cowboys five-eighth Michael Morgan snares a bench spot as a playmaker, joining three edge forwards in Tyson Frizell, Josh Papalii and Sam Thaiday on the interchange list.

The Test will be Woods' 10th international appearance following his Kangaroos debut in 2014.

We've revealed our brand new Indigenous jersey — click here to get yours today!


1. Darius Boyd (Brisbane Broncos)
2. Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)
3. Josh Dugan (St. George-Illawarra Dragons)
4. Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm)
5. Valentine Holmes (Cronulla Sharks)
6. Jonathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
7. Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)
8. Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
9. Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
10. David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
11. Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)
12. Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
13. Trent Merrin (Penrith Panthers)

14. Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)
15. Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)
16. Tyson Frizell (St. George-Illawarra Dragons)
17. Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)

18. Shannon Boyd (Canberra Raiders)
19. James Maloney (Cronulla Sharks)
20. Justin O'Neill (North Queensland Cowboys)

Coach: Mal Meninga


Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners