You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Wests Tigers and the Melbourne Storm will face off for the second time this year when they meet on Saturday at Mt. Smart Stadium for the Round 5 doubleheader.

Just four weeks ago, Ivan Cleary's side made the trip down to AAMI Park and downed the defending premiers in their first loss of the year — a result which, at the time, seemed one of the upsets of the year.

However, with a Round 1 win over the Sydney Roosters already in the bank and a win over Parramatta still fresh in the minds of Wests Tigers fans, Cleary's side are slowly showing they are a force to be reckoned with in 2018, and a second date with the premiers is another great opportunity to prove that again.

With Josh Reynolds and Elijah Taylor still sidelined for this week's game, Cleary has named the same 17-man squad from yesterday's game to take on the Storm this Saturday at Mount Smart Stadium.

Tyson Gamble, David Nofoaluma and Tim Grant have been named as reserves, as well as Sauaso Sue for the first time this year following his strong form in the Intrust Super Premiership competition.

Russell Packer will formally captain the side this week, as he did in Round 2 against the Storm.

Craig Bellamy's side do have a few changes for Saturday's game with suspensions to star centre Will Chambers and Dale Finucane forcing a few new inclusions for the Storm. 

Fresh off his hat-trick in the Intrust Super Cup competition, Young Tonumaipea replaces Chambers in the centres while Kenny Bromwich starts at lock in place of Finucane. Australian international Felise Kaufusi might also make his return from injury after being named amongst the reserves in jersey 21.


1. Tuimoala Lolohea
2. Corey Thompson
3. Esan Marsters
4. Kevin Naiqama
5. Malakai Watene-Zelezniak
6. Benji Marshall
7. Luke Brooks
8. Russell Packer (capt.)
9. Pita Godinet
10. Ben Matulino
11. Chris Lawrence
12. Robbie Rochow
13. Matt Eisenhuth

14. Jacob Liddle
15. Alex Twal
16. Michael Chee Kam
17. Josh Aloiai

18. Tyson Gamble
19. Tim Grant
20. David Nofoaluma
21. Sauaso Sue

Coach: Ivan Cleary



1. Billy Slater
2. Suliasi Vunivalu
3. Young Tonumaipea
4. Curtis Scott
5. Josh Addo-Carr
6. Cameron Munster
7. Brodie Croft
8. Jesse Bromwich
9. Cameron Smith (capt.)
10. Nelson Asofa-Solomona
11. Joe Stimson
12. Ryan Hoffman
13. Kenny Bromwich

14. Brandon Smith
15. Tim Glasby
16. Christian Welch
17. Sam Kasiano

18. Justin Olam
19. Patrick Kaufusi
20. Ryley Jacks
21. Felise Kaufusi

Coach: Craig Bellamy

Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners