You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Wests Tigers Head Coach Ivan Cleary will welcome back co-captain Chris Lawrence for Sunday's match against the Parramatta Eels as his side look to bounce back from a last start defeat to the Newcastle Knights in Tamworth.

Lawrence will return as captain for this week's match, after he was forced to watch last week's loss from the sidelined following a hamstring injury he picked up in the Round 6 win over Manly.

The club's all-time top try-scorer, Lawrence returns to his customary spot in the back row, with Josh Aloiai dropping back to the bench in place of Alex Twal who misses out this week with injury.

Twal has a minor shoulder issue and is expected to be available for selection again in Round 9.

In the only other change, Mahe Fonua earns his first start in the squad after impressing in the club's Intrust Super Premiership team — joining Tim Grant, Tyson Gamble and Chris McQueen in the reserves.

Jacob Liddle (sternum) and Elijah Taylor (concussion) have both been named in a boost for the side, despite picking up knocks in the last-minute defeat to Newcastle at Scully Park.

For Parramatta, Coach Brad Arthur has named a near-identical side to the one that downed Manly last weekend with the only change that of Bevan French, who returns to the wing in place of Jarryd Hayne.

Nathan Brown, who was penciled in to return from injury this week, has not been named in the 21-man squad — meaning that Peni Terepo retains his spot in the run-on side at lock forward.

Kickoff for Sunday's match is at 4:00pm AEST, with gates open at ANZ Stadium from 2:45pm.  

2018 Match Highlights: Rd.4, Wests Tigers vs. Eels


1. Corey Thompson
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Esan Marsters
4. Kevin Naiqama
5. Malakai Watene-Zelezniak
6. Benji Marshall
7. Luke Brooks
8. Matt Eisenhuth
9. Jacob Liddle
10. Ben Matulino
11. Chris Lawrence (capt.)
12. Robbie Rochow
13. Elijah Taylor

14. Pita Godinet
15. Josh Aloiai
16. Michael Chee Kam
17. Sauaso Sue

18. Tim Grant
19. Chris McQueen
20. Tyson Gamble
21. Mahe Fonua

Coach: Ivan Cleary



1. Clint Gutherson (capt.)
2. Bevan French
3. Michael Jennings
4. Brad Takairangi
5. George Jennings
6. Corey Norman
7. Mitchell Moses
8. Daniel Alvaro
9. Kaysa Pritchard
10. Suaia Matagi
11. Manu Ma'u
12. Tony Williams
13. Peni Terepo

14. Will Smith
15. Kenny Edwards
16. David Gower
17. Tim Mannah (capt.)

18. Tepai Moeroa
19. Kane Evans
20. Josh Hoffman
21. Cameron King

Coach: Brad Arthur

Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners