You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Maguire names four debutants for Kangaroos Test

Wests Tigers and New Zealand Coach Michael Maguire has named four debutants for his side's Test match against the Kangaroos this Friday at WIN Stadium, Wollongong.

Last-start winners against Australia when they met in 2018, New Zealand will see four rookies feature on Friday night with Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Zane Tevetavo, Braden Hamlin-Uele and Corey Harawira-Naera all named by Maguire.

Nicoll-Klokstad will start in the centres with Esan Marsters out injured, while Jamayne Isaako stats on the wing in place of the injured Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.

Watene-Zelezniak's omission sees Wests Tigers playmaker Benji Marshall — who will start at halfback — named as captain for a record-breaking 20th time, with the 34-year-old last captaining the side against Australia back in 2012.

Kiwis pay tribute to captain Benji

The unavailability of Jesse Bromwich (foot), Isaac Liu (knee), James Fisher-Harris (pectoral) and Nelson Asofa-Solomona (suspension) sees a new-look forward pack for New Zealand. Leeson Ah Mau and Adam Blair both start, while the three rookie forwards on debut will join utility Jahrome Hughes on the bench.

Marshall reflects on one of the proudest moments in his career

Despite those changes, New Zealand will field nine of the starting 13 used in their strong win over Tonga earlier this year and will be determined to spring an upset over the Kangaroos this week following their defeat in the recent 2019 World Nines.

Following Friday's Test, New Zealand will then face the Great Britain Lions in two Tests played in Auckland (November 2) and Christchurch (November 9).


1. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (NZ Warriors)
2. Ken Maumalo (NZ Warriors)
3. Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad (Canberrra Raiders)
4. Joseph Manu (Sydney Roosters)
5. Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)
6. Shaun Johnson (Cronulla Sharks)
7. Benji Marshall, capt. (Wests Tigers)
8. Leeson Ah Mau (NZ Warriors)
9. Brandon Smith (Melbourne Storm)
10. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters)
11. Briton Nikora (Cronulla Sharks)
12. Kenny Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)
13. Adam Blair (NZ Warriors)

14. Jahrome Hughes (Melbourne Storm)
15. Zane Tetevano (Sydney Roosters)
16. Braden Hamlin-Uele (Cronulla Sharks)
17. Corey Harawira-Naera (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
18. Kevin Proctor (Gold Coast Titans)
19. Bailey Simonsson (Canberra Raiders)
20. Kodi Nikorima (NZ Warriors)

Coach: Michael Maguire