You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Can you remember Wests Tigers supporters what happened the last time Parramatta Eels played a first grade premiership match at Leichhardt Oval?

In the build up to tonight's round three blockbuster clash, takes a step back in time

to Sunday afternoon, May 30, courtesty of David Middleton's RL Annual 2004 year book.


Wests Tigers 33 Parramatta 6

Wests Tigers inflicted more pain on Parramatta and their increasingly under-pressure coach Brian Smith by demolishing the Eels 33-6 before a record crowd at Leichhardt Oval.

The Tigers were in white-hot form, scoring six tries to one in recording their biggest ever win over the Eels.

The half-five-eighth combination of Scott Prince and Benji Marshall worked brilliantly for the home side, who scored their first try inside the first 60 seconds and went to halftime with a commanding 18-0 lead.

Marshall bewildered the Eels with his prodigious sidestep and scored an important try seconds before the interval.

The second half brought no relief to the visitors, who conceded further tries to winger Luke Covell and Robert Mears and a field goal to Prince before five-eighth Michael Witt scored his teams only try for the afternoon.

Covell finished with a hat-trick for the Tigers, while fullback Brett Hodgson was again prominent.

Parramatta blew their one chance to get back into the game after halftime when halfback Chris Thorman cut through the defence only to drop the ball over the Tigers line.


Wests Tigers 33 (L.Covell 3, B.Marshall, R.Mears, S.Elford tries; B.Hodgson 4 goals; S.Prince field goal) defeated Parramatta 6 (M.Witt try; Witt goal)

Scrums: 6-all. Penalties: Wests Tigers 10-5. Crowd: 18,883. Referee: Shayne Hayne.

Halftime: Wests Tigers 18-0. Goalkickers: Hodgson (Wests Tigers) 4/7, Witt (Parramatta) 1/1. Dally M points: 3 Laffranchi (Wests Tigers), 2 Prince (Wests Tigers), 1 Marshall (Wests Tigers).


WESTS TIGERS: Brett Hodgson; Jason Moodie, Daniel Fitzhenry, Shane Elford, Luke Covell; Benji Marshall, Scott Prince; Anthony Laffranchi, Darren Senter (c), John Skandalis, Ben Galea, Mark ONeill, Scott Sattler. Interchange: Robbie Mears, Chris Heighington, Dene Halatau, Todd Payten. Coach: Tim Sheens.

PARRAMATTA: Wade McKinnon; Brett Anderson, Ashley Graham, Dean Widders, Luke Burt; Michael Witt, Chris Thorman; Michael Vella, James Webster, Justin Tsoulos, Nathan Hindmarsh, Lee Hopkins, Daniel Wagon (c). Interchange: Shane Muspratt, Mal Kaufusi, Craig Stapleton, Jack Afamasaga. Coach: Brian Smith.
Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners