You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Five exciting young Wests Tigers players will take the field this Saturday in Auckland as part of the annual Junior Kiwis v Junior Kangaroos match.

Manaia Cherrington, Watson Heleta, Lamar Liolevave and Te Maire Martin will take the field for New Zealand, coming up against Australian representative Matt Lodge.

One of the Club’s recruits for 2015, Chance Peni will also play for the Junior Kiwis after a successful season with the Holden Cup minor-premiers Newcastle.

This match will be Cherrington’s second appearance in the Under 20s representative fixture, starting at hooker in last year’s match that ended with the Junior Kangaroos running out 38-26 victors at Kogarah Oval.

On the opposing side, Lodge is one of nine players in the Junior Kangaroos squad with NRL experience, playing four games for the Wests Tigers towards the back end of the year.  

The Junior Kangaroos side will be looking to record their third straight victory in this Representative fixture, however the Junior Kiwis will have the home crowd advantage this year in what is sure to be a thrilling encounter.


Match Details

Junior Kiwis v Junior Kangaroos

7pm (Local) Saturday, October 18

Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland

TV COVERAGE: 8pm (AEDT) on Fox Sports 3


NZ Junior Kiwis:

Josh Ailoai (Parramatta Eels), Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm), Manaia Cherrington (Wests Tigers), Zach Docker-Clay (Parramatta Eels), Addin Fonua-Blake (St George Illawarra Dragons), Watson Heleta (Wests Tigers), Sione Katoa (Penrith Panthers), Danny Levi (Newcastle Knights), Lamar Liolevave (Wests Tigers), Sam Lisone (Vodafone Warriors), Sam Manulelua (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Te Maire Martin (Wests Tigers), Taane Milne (Sydney Roosters), Kodi Nikorima (Brisbane Broncos), Chance Peni (Newcastle Knights), Joseph Tapine (Newcastle Knights), Adam Tuimavave-Gerard (Vodafone Warriors), Braden Uele (Sydney Roosters)

Coach: Brent Gemmell

Assistant Coach: Kelvin Wright


Junior Kangaroos:

1 Clint Gutherson (Sea Eagles)

2 Valentine Holmes (Sharks)

3 Jack Bird (Dragons)

4 Euan Aitken (Dragons)

5 Jake Mamo (Knights)

6 Drew Hutchison (Dragons)

7 Ryan Matterson (Eels)

8 Matthew Lodge (Wests Tigers)

9 Cameron McInnes (Rabbitohs)

10 Joe Ofahengaue (Broncos)

11 Patrick Mago (Raiders)

12 Tevita Pangai (Raiders)

13 Kelepi Tanginoa (Eels)

14 Brett Greinke (Broncos)

15 Willis Meehan (Roosters)

16 Cameron Munster (Storm)

17 Andy Saunders (Panthers)

18 Jackson Hastings (Roosters) 

Coach: Kelly Egan (Bulldogs)


Past Wests Tigers Representatives

Junior Kangaroos:

David Nofoaluma (2013)

Jacob Miller (2012)

Jacob Miller, Matt Groat (2011)

Junior Kiwis:

Kurtis Rowe, Manaia Cherrington (2013)

Sauaso Sue, Mosese Fotuaika, Ben Murdoch-Masila (2012)

Ben Murdoch-Masila (2011)


Past Results:

2013: Junior Kangaroos 38 def Junior Kiwis 26

2012: Junior Kangaroos 48 def Junior Kiwis 16

2011: Junior Kiwis 28 def Junior Kangaroos 16

2010 (Under 19s): Game 1 – Junior Kangaroos 24 def Junior Kiwis 16

Game 2 – Junior Kiwis 36 def Junior Kangaroos 20 

Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners