You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

New Zealand will look to break an eight-game losing streak against Australia this Saturday night at Suncorp Stadium as the 2014 Four Nations tournament gets underway.

Five players are set to make their Test debuts for the Kangaroos, including Wests Tigers’ Aaron Woods who will start the game at prop forward.

On the opposing side, just one player will make their debut for the Kiwis in North Queensland’s Jason Taumalolo. Fellow rookie Dallin Watene-Zelezniak was ruled out through injury this week, replaced by St George Illawarra’s Gerard Beale on the wing.

Wests Tigers skipper Robbie Farah has been named on the interchange bench and is set to rotate with Australian captain Cameron Smith at dummy-half.

Farah missed the previous mid-season clash with the Kiwis this year after suffering a dislocated elbow in the Wests Tigers’ Round 6 victory over North Queensland.

Two Wests Tigers who played in that match were Martin Taupau and Adam Blair, who have retained their place in the New Zealand line-up for this game.

Blair moves into the front row of the Kiwis, while Taupau will look to provide impact from an interchange bench boasting Lewis Brown, Greg Eastwood and Tohu Harris.

It shapes to be an exciting kick-off to the Four Nations tournament, with a new-look Australian side coming up against a determined New Zealand team.

Match Details

Australia v New Zealand

Saturday, October 25

Suncorp Stadium

Kick-off: 6:30pm (QLD) 7:30pm (NSW)

Tickets – Click here to purchase


TV Coverage - Live on Channel 9


Match Officials

Referee: Phil Bentham

Touch Judges: Robert Hicks & Grant Atkins

Head to Head

Played 127 games – Australia 95, New Zealand 29, Drawn 3

Last Five Clashes

2014 - Australia 30 defeated New Zealand 18

2013 – Australia 34 defeated New Zealand 2 (World Cup final)

2013 – Australia 32 defeated New Zealand 12

2012 – Australia 18 defeated New Zealand 10

2012 – Australia 20 defeated New Zealand 12

Things to consider:

- Australia have just five players in their squad who have played more than seven Test matches (Cameron Smith, Greg Inglis, Greg Bird, Sam Thaiday and Cooper Cronk)

- The last time Australia and New Zealand met in Brisbane was in 2010, which was also the Kiwis last victory over the Kangaroos (16-12)

- Manu Vatuvei needs just two tries to equal the all-time try scoring tally for New Zealand (currently held by Nigel Vagana; 19 tries)

- Australia has won 19 of the past 22 games against New Zealand




New Zealand

Greg Inglis


Peta Hiku

Josh Mansour


Jason Nightingale

Michael Jennings


Shaun Kenny-Dowall

Dylan Walker


Dean Whare

Daniel Tupou


Gerard Beale

Daly Cherry-Evans


Keiran Foran

Cooper Cronk


Shaun Johnson

Aaron Woods


Jesse Bromwich

Cameron Smith (c)


Thomas Leuluai

Sam Thaiday


Adam Blair

Beau Scott


Simon Mannering (c)

Ryan Hoffman


Kevin Proctor

Greg Bird


Jason Taumalolo




Robbie Farah


Lewis Brown

Aidan Guerra


Greg Eastwood

Josh Papalii


Martin Taupau

Corey Parker


Tohu Harris

Boyd Cordner


Suaia Matagi

David Klemmer



Sione Mata’utia




Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners