You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Wests Tigers fullback James Tedesco has today been awarded the Club’s 2015 Player’s Player of the Year Award.

The honour was announced at the annual Wests Tigers Grand Final Luncheon at Doltone House – Darling Island Wharf.

Tedesco was also awarded the Members’ Player of the Year award for what was a brilliant season from the Camden Rams junior, scoring 17 tries in 24 appearances.

The annual event also recognised the induction of two more Wests Tigers Life Members in Tim Sheens and Brett Hodgson – with the 2005 premiership winners joining Robbie Farah, Benji Marshall, Mark O’Neill and John Skandalis on the illustrious list.

Sheens coached Wests Tigers for 10 seasons, including the 2005 Grand Final victory, while Hodgson broke numerous Club records during his 102-game career with the joint venture.

With Tedesco picking up two out of three NRL awards on the day, Kyle Lovett took out the remaining honour of NRL Rookie of the Year.

Lovett made 21 appearances during the season and joins a number of big names to take out the award in previous years including Luke Brooks, Aaron Woods and Chris Lawrence.

Josh Drinkwater (Coaches Player) and Kurtis Rowe (Player’s Player) were the NSW Cup award winners after impressive seasons respectively.

In Holden Cup, prop forward Junior Tatola was named Coaches Player for his efforts during the season, while up and coming hooker Jacob Liddle was awarded Player’s Player of the Year.

Wests Tigers presented the annual Woman of the Year award to Leoni Barnett for her contributions during 2015.

Another award presented at the event was the prestigious Clubman of the Year honour, which was given to trainer Paul Tape for his tireless contributions to Wests Tigers over the past 16 seasons.

‘Sticksy’ has been involved with Wests Tigers since the Club was formed in 2000 and is currently the trainer for both the NRL and Holden Cup sides.

Wests Tigers CEO Justin Pascoe reiterated the importance of recognising each award winner on their achievements this season.

“I would like to congratulate each award recipient today at our Grand Final Luncheon,” Pascoe said. “They are all very deserving of their awards for their efforts and achievements at the Club this year.

“We also welcomed a further two Life Members in Brett Hodgson and Tim Sheens, who have both made significant contributions during their time at Wests Tigers and it’s important that we recognise them for that.”

Over 600 guests were in attendance on the day, with this year being the first time that the annual event was held at the picturesque Doltone House.


2015 Season Award Winners


Player's Player of the Year: James Tedesco

Rookie of the Year: Kyle Lovett

Members' Player of the Year: James Tedesco



Players Player: Kurtis Rowe

Coaches Player: Josh Drinkwater



Players Player: Jacob Liddle

Coaches Player: Junior Tatola



Tim Sheens

Brett Hodgson



Paul Tape



Leoni Barnett


Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners