You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Wests Tigers will look to build on their two-point victory over Melbourne when they host the Cronulla Sharks at Campbelltown Sports Stadium in the club’s second trial match.

After a successful trip to the Sunshine Coast last week, the final trial will offer Wests Tigers the opportunity to build some momentum before the competition officially kicks off in a fortnight.

Wests Tigers Head Coach Jason Taylor named a near full strength side for the match with newly appointed skipper Aaron Woods set to make his first appearance for 2016, along with Wests Tigers 2015 Player of the Year James Tedesco. Vice-captain Chris Lawrence has overcome a corked hip sustained in the Nines to take his place in the back-row, partnering Curtis Sironen, who will also have his first hit out of the pre-season after missing last week’s trial match.

Tim Simona, Kevin Naiqama, Sauaso Sue, Ava Seumanufagai and Josh Drinkwater will also return from the Auckland Nines campaign for their first trial match before the season begins.

Taylor said the trial match was a good opportunity to see a full-strength team in action, with several Round 1 positions still up for grabs heading into Saturday night’s match.

“This week’s team is pretty close to [as it would be] in Round 1,” Taylor said.

“There’s plenty of guys who are pushing for a spot — we’ve got a battle in the halves to cover Luke Brooks for Round 1, a battle on the left wing and maybe a bench spot as well.

“We’re looking for a team performance this week — that’s the big thing for us.

“It might be one of our first actual games, but we’ve been training for a long time now in regards to executing well… so there’s no reason why we can’t execute early in the season.

“The big thing about this game is about getting the minutes into the guys that need it.”

With Wests Tigers NYC and NSW Cup featuring before the match, along with Western Suburbs junior representative grades earlier in the day, it’s shaping as a great afternoon of footy at the suburban ground, with plenty of tickets still available from Ticketek (click here to purchase).

All Wests Tigers 2016 members can gain entry to the trial match for free (click here for more).

For those unable to match, Wests Tigers will be providing a live stream of the NRL match on from 6:45pm, proudly sponsored by Campbelltown City Council.

Tickets are on sale for our trial match against Cronulla! Be there to see the boys in action!

NRL Match Details

Date — Saturday, February 20, 2016

Time — 7:00pm AEDT (Gates open at 11:15am)

Venue — Campbelltown Sports Stadium


NRL Match Officials

Referees — Henry Perenara and Chris James

Touch Judges — Jeff Younis and Adam Reid


Confirmed Squads

Cronulla Sharks


Wests Tigers

Jack Bird


James Tedesco

Valentine Holmes


David Nofoaluma

Gerard Beale


Tim Simona

Ricky Leutele


Kevin Naiqama

Sosaia Feki


Justin Hunt

James Maloney


Mitchell Moses

Chad Townsend


Jack Littlejohn

Sam Tagataese


Aaron Woods

Michael Ennis


Robbie Farah

Andrew Fifita


Tim Grant

Luke Lewis


Curtis Sironen

Wade Graham


Chris Lawrence

Paul Gallen


Sauaso Sue

Jayson Bukuya


Jordan Rankin

Joseph Paulo


Ava Seumanufagai

Ben Barba


Josh Aloiai

Matt Prior


Manaia Cherrington

David Fifita


Kyle Lovett

Chris Heighington


Luke Brooks



Josh Drinkwater

Shane Flanagan


Jason Taylor


2016 Trial Match Results

Wests Tigers 18 def. Melbourne Storm 16, Sunshine Coast, QLD

Cronulla Sharks 24 drew with Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles 24, Remondis Stadium, NSW


Wests Tigers Trial Teams — Sat., February 20

NRL — 7:00pm

NSW Cup — 5:00pm

NYC — 3:00pm

James Tedesco

Watson Heleta

Jai Doolan

David Nofoaluma

Josh Addo-Carr

Toa Mata’afa

Tim Simona

Nathan Milone

Ryland Jacobs

Kevin Naiqama

Michael Chee Kam

Sam DeFiddes

Justin Hunt

Chance Peni

Obed Karwhin

Mitchell Moses

Jeremy Marshall-King

Veiru Mapesone

Jack Littlejohn

Josh Drinkwater

Thomas Bartley

Aaron Woods

Dallas Graham

Junior Tatola

Robbie Farah

Jacob Liddle

Jack Wheelhouse

Tim Grant

JJ Felise

Siaosi Nasilai

Curtis Sironen

Tyler Cassel

Jaleel Seve-Derbas

Chris Lawrence

Asipeli Fine

Esan Marsters

Sauaso Sue

Rod Griffin

Jakob Giles

Jordan Rankin

Billy McConnachie

Rhys Sciglitano

Ava Seumanufagai

Lamar Liolevave

Daniel Peck

Josh Aloiai

Jordan Grant

Jesse Jackson

Manaia Cherrington

Wesley Lolo

Luke Sharpe

Kyle Lovett

Jackson Williams

Lenny Sauni

Luke Brooks

John Tohi

Daniel Ascoli

Josh Drinkwater

Matt Eisenhuth

Taniela Paseka


Andy Fiagatusa



Billy Tsikrikas


Jason Taylor

Paul Stringer

Willie Peters