You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Wests Tigers fans can settle in and take in a great day of footy on July 2, with all three grades in action on Saturday — albeit across two locations and countries.

Jason Taylor’s men headline the afternoon at 5:30pm when they host the Penrith Panthers at ANZ Stadium as the Club celebrates Legends Day — a match likely to contain plenty of points as both teams show off their attacking class in a crucial game for both teams.

While Wests Tigers NRL side sit in 12th position heading into Round 17, both Wests Tigers lower grades are placed inside the top eight of their respective competitions, and will take on teams currently first on the Holden Cup and Intrust Super Premiership ladders.

The Intrust Super Premiership side head across the Tasman to face the equal-first-placed New Zealand Warriors side at Mt Smart Stadium from 2:40pm local time (12:40 AEST).

Coach Paul Stringer's men sit in sixth position coming off the bye, with a victory against the high-flying Warriors potentially pushing the side as high as third place on the ladder.

With the departure of Jack Buchanan, Josh Drinkwater, Asipeli Fine and others over the last month or so, young guns Veiru Mapesone, Jacob Liddle and Esan Marsters continue to step up for the side, despite still being eligible for the Holden Cup competition.

Josh Addo-Carr also returns to the side after gaining some experience in the NRL side, while experienced forward Joel Edwards captains the side against the Warriors.

Despite those absences, Wests Tigers Holden Cup side have seemingly handled the frequent team changes with aplomb, with the exception of last week's loss to the Storm.

Willie Peters' side have won nine games and lost just for in 2016 to sit in equal fourth position with a game in hand, leaving them in a strong position to make a run to the finals.

With a three-point gap between third and fourth, this week's clash against the top-of-the-table Panthers looms as the match of the round as far as the Holden Cup is concerned.

Penrith have only lost once all season in the U/20's competition and average just 12 points against per game. To put that remarkable record into persepevtive, the next-best defensive record in the league is Parramatta, almost double that of the Panthers with 21.2 points.

Wesrs Tigers forwards Jakob Giles and Bayley Sironen have been in good form out wide, while Taniela Paseka and Mark McCormack continue to have the side on the front foot. 

They'll need to lift their game against the Panthers this weekend; however, these two teams are yet to meet this season and both have strong arguments as to their chances this week.

Make sure you get out to ANZ Stadium nice and early to catch one of the best U/20's games of the season, with kickoff at 3:15pm prior to the NRL fixture at 5:30pm.

For those unable to attend the match, Fox Sports 1 will show live coverage of the Club's Intrust Super Premiership game from 12:30pm and the NRL game from 5:30pm.

Don't miss Legends Day as we celebrate some of the greatest players ever on July 2!


New Zealand Warriors vs. Wests Tigers

Mount Smart Stadium, Saturday July 2, 12:40pm AEST (2:40pm local)

Live TV coverage via Fox Sports 1

1. Watson Heleta
2. Jayden Wheelhouse
3. Chance Peni
4. Michael Chee Kam
5. Josh Addo-Carr
6. Veiru Mapesone
7. Jeremy Marshall-King
8. Dallas Graham
9. Jacob Liddle
10. Jordan Grant
11. Esan Marsters
12. Tyler Cassel
13. Joel Edwards (capt.)

14. Rod Griffin
15. Matthew Eisenhuth
16. Wes Lolo
17. Jackson Williams
18. Manaia Rudolph

Coach: Paul Stringer



Wests Tigers vs. Penrith Panthers

ANZ Stadium, Saturday July 2, 3:15pm

1. Ryan Papenhuyzen
2. Roman Ioelu
3. Ryland Jacobs
4. Tony Tali
5. Obed Karwhin
6. Jai Doolan
7. Thomas Bartley
8. Mark McCormack
9. Daniel Peck (capt.)
10. Taniela Paseka
11. Bayley Sironen
12. Jakob Giles
13. Lenny Sauni

14. Paul Roberts
15. Jesse Jackson
16. Siaosi Nasilai
17. Rhys Sciglitano

Coach: Willie Peters



Wests Tigers vs. Penrith Panthers

ANZ Stadium, Saturday July 2, 5:30pm

Live TV coverage via Fox Sports 1

1. James Tedesco
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Tim Simona
4. Kevin Naiqama
5. Jordan Rankin
6. Mitchell Moses
7. Luke Brooks
8. Aaron Woods (capt.)
9. Dene Halatau
10. Sauaso Sue
11. Josh Aloiai
12. Chris Lawrence
13. Elijah Taylor

14. Tim Grant
15. Ava Seumanufagai
16. Robbie Farah
17. Kyle Lovett
18. JJ Felise

Coach: Jason Taylor


Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners