You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2017 NRL - Grant Trouville © NRL Photos

The 2017 State of Origin series kicks off tonight at Suncorp Stadium as a new-look Queensland side host a New South Wales team determined to once again bounce back.

In the last 10 years, New South Wales have won only one series.

It's well-known and well-documented, but this could perhaps be the year to change history, with Jonathan Thurston (shoulder), Matt Scott (ACL) and Greg Inglis (ACL) all unavailable.

With Thurston ruled out with a shoulder injury, Broncos playmaker Anthony Milford will get his first taste in the Origin cauldron while Roosters firebrand Dylan Napa starts up front.

For the Blues, Laurie Daley's side have been boosted by the incredible return from a hamstring injury by Aaron Woods — getting through last week's game unscathed to take his spot.

James Tedesco has been named at fullback despite the presence of a number of high-quality fullbacks in the game, while Boyd Cordner takes the mantle as captain from Paul Gallen.

Comapred to Game I last year, the 2017 Blues is a far younger side, with the likes of Josh Mansour, Michael Jennings, Adam Reynolds, Robbie Farah and Greg Bird all not named.

Could that be what swings this year's series in the Blues' favour?



Date — Wedensday, May 31, 2017

Time — 8:00pm AEST

Venue — Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane



TV — Live via Channel 9 (Replay Fox League, Ch.502, from 10:00pm)

Radio — Live via AM 702 ABC Grandstand, FM 104.9 Triple M Sydney (check local guides)

Live Stream — NRL Digital Pass (subscription required)



Referees — Matt Cecchin and Gerard Sutton

Touch Judges — Brett Suttor and Chris Butler

Review Officials — Bernard Sutton and Ben Galea


Referee: Matt Cecchin


Head-to head — Queensland ($2.00) New South Wales ($1.85)

Latest odds via (18+ only, gamble responsibly).

Odds correct as of Tuesday, May 30 at 3:00pm



New South Wales

1. James Tedesco, 2. Blake Ferguson, 3. Josh Dugan, 4. Jarryd Hayne, 5. Brett Morris, 6. James Maloney, 7. Mitchell Pearce, 8. Aaron Woods, 9. Nathan Peats, 10. Andrew Fifita, 11. Josh Jackson, 12. Boyd Cordner, 13. Tyson Frizell (Interchange: 14. David Klemmer, 15. Wade Graham, 16. Jake Trbojevic, 17. Jack Bird)

18th man: Matt Moylan
19th man: Jordan McLean
20th man: Jack De Belin



1. Darius Boyd, 2. Corey Oates, 3. Will Chambers, 4. Justin O’Neill, 5. Dane Gagai, 6. Anthony Milford, 7. Cooper Cronk, 8. Dylan Napa, 9. Cameron Smith, 10. Nate Myles, 11. Josh Papalii, 12. Matt Gillett, 13. Josh McGuire (Interchange: 14. Michael Morgan, 15. Sam Thaiday, 16. Aidan Guerra, 17. Jacob Lillyman)

18th man: Jarrod Wallace.



2016 — Game I (QLD 6-4), Game II (QLD 26-16), Game III (NSW 18-14)

2015 — Game I (QLD 11-10), Game II (NSW 26-18) Game III (QLD 52-6)

2014 — Game I (NSW 12-8), Game II (NSW 6-4), Game III (QLD 32-8)



·      Head-to-head — Played 35, Queensland 20, New South Wales 13, Drawn 2.


Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners