You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Cowboys name team for Cairns trial match

North Queensland Cowboys Coach Paul Green has named a strong side for the upcoming trial match on Saturday, February 17 against Wests Tigers in Cairns.

Green has named a 22-man squad that includes Cowboys co-captains Jonathan Thurston and Matt Scott, who will both make their long-awaited returns from injury in the match.

Following their World Cup commitments, Michael Morgan, Jason Taumalolo and Jordan McLean won't feature for the home side, but former Wests Tigers Holden Cup five-eighth Te Maire Martin will partner Thurston in the halves. Ben Hampton will feature in place of fullback Lachlan Coote.

Gates open at Barlow Park from 4:00pm local time, with Northern Pride taking on Cairns Connection at 5:30pm prior to the main event kicking off from 7:30pm (8:30pm AEDT).

Wests Tigers will name their squad for the trial match early next week.



Trial Match — Saturday, February 17

Barlow Park, Cairns, 7:30pm local

1. Ben Hampton
2. Gideon Gela-Mosby
3. Javid Bowen
4. Shaun Hudson
5. Enari Tuala
6. Te Maire Martin
7. Johnathan Thurston (capt.)
8. Scott Bolton
9. Jake Granville
10. Matt Scott (capt.)
11. Ethan Lowe
12. Coen Hess
13. John Asiata

14. Kyle Laybutt
15. Jake Clifford
16. Mitch Dunn
17. Shane Wright
18. Corey Jensen
19. Sam Hoare
20. Emry Pere
21. Francis Molo
22. Carlin Anderson

Coach: Paul Green

Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners