You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Wests Tigers launch NRL Touch Premiership teams

Wests Tigers are pleased to announce that the club will be a part of the inaugural NRL Touch Premiership.

Wests Tigers will be one of six NRL Touch Premiership teams, joining the Parramatta Eels, Newcastle Knights, Gold Coast Titans, Brisbane Broncos and North Queensland Cowboys in the innovative new competition.

As a part of the new competition Wests Tigers will field two teams, a women's team and a men's team, with a 30 minute game for each team to be played prior to a number of NRL fixtures over the coming weeks.

The two teams will take to the field in Wests Tigers jerseys with CEO Justin Pascoe saying that the club was excited to be a part of the series.

"We're thrilled to be a part of this innovative competition and look forward to the two teams representing Wests Tigers on and off the field," said Pascoe. "The new competition provides a great way to showcase the skill and athleticism involved in touch football.

"We're committed to growing participation in the game for both men and women and providing a platform such as the NRL Touch Premiership to promote the game is a great way to help," he said.

"Touch football not only provides a pathway into rugby league but is also a great way to get active and promotes a healthy lifestyle.

"Our involvement in the new competition also provides a great opportunity to further enhance one of our key strategic priorities of including women in all aspects of Wests Tigers," said Pascoe. "I look forward to cheering on the two Wests Tigers teams throughout the inaugural NRL Touch Premiership."

Touch Football Australia Steve Mitchell is excited about having a Wests Tigers team in the mix.

"Wests Tigers star Benji Marshall is just one of the many NRL players who came from a touch football background, and who credit their speed, agility and ball skills to touch," he said.

"He's been a strong advocate for the game of touch and that it's a key pathway into rugby league, plus his brother Jordan Marshall-King is a current Australian touch player, so we already have nice links with Wests Tigers, and we look forward to working with the club to bring the new Premiership to life."

The inaugural NRL Touch Premiership will consist of six rounds plus a final. New South Wales and Queensland teams will compete against each other in separate pools, with the winners from each pool progressing to the Premiership Final. 

The NRL Touch Premiership will be broadcast nationally, as a mix of live and delayed broadcasts.

Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners