You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
RLPA launches The Players' Champion Award for 2018

Wests Tigers players Luke Brooks, Esan Marsters, Corey Thompson and Ben Matulino have been nominated as contenders for the The Players' Champion.

The Rugby League Players Association's (RLPA) The Players' Champion is a prestigious honour that recognises the best player in the National Rugby League – as voted by players. The event is renowned for its individuality — with it being the only peer-voted awards night on the Rugby League calendar — combined with its non-traditional theming that is built around celebrating the achievements of players. 

The event also celebrates the achievements of the RLPA membership across a range of different areas – including The Dennis Tutty Award (named after the former Balmain forward), Elite Women's Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Representative Player of the Year and various Wellbeing and Education awards.

Working in conjunction with club delegates, the RLPA has provided more than 500 contracted NRL players with a list of 64 players (four from each club) in contention for the prestigious Players' Champion award and the recently introduced Players' 13 Dream Team.

The full list of players has been announced today, with players across the game now able to vote for their champion picks on a 3-2-1 system based on their performance across the entire 2018 season.

Brooks and Marsters are the only two players to feature in every game for Wests Tigers this season while Thompson and Matulino have also been superb in their first season in their new colours. 

The Players' Champion will be announced on Tuesday, September 11 at Doltone House, Darling Island.



Brisbane Broncos   Jamayne Isaako, Corey Oates, Joe Ofahengaue, James Roberts 
Canberra Raiders  Josh Papalii, Jordan Rapana, Joseph Tapine, Elliot Whitehead 
Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs  Will Hopoate, Josh Jackson, David Klemmer, Josh Morris 
Cronulla Sharks  Valentine Holmes, Matt Moylan, Matt Prior, Andrew Fifita 
Gold Coast Titans  Jai Arrow, Michael Gordon, Ryan James, Anthony Don 
Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles  Joel Thompson, Jake Trbojevic, Tom Trbojevic, Daly Cherry-Evans 
Melbourne Storm  Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Cameron Munster, Cameron Smith, Billy Slater 
Newcastle Knights  Lachlan Fitzgibbon, Aidan Guerra, Kalyn Ponga, Sione Mata'utia 
New Zealand Warriors  Issac Luke, Ken Maumalo, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Blake Green 
North Queensland Cowboys  Kyle Feldt, Jason Taumalolo, Johnathan Thurston, Gavin Cooper 
Parramatta Eels  Daniel Alvaro, George Jennings, Tepai Moeroa, Mitchell Moses 
Penrith Panthers  James Fisher-Harris, Viliame Kikau, Isaah Yeo, James Maloney 
South Sydney Rabbitohs  Damien Cook, Angus Crichton, Cody Walker, Sam Burgess 
St. George-Illawarra Dragons  Cameron McInnes, Tariq Sims, Gareth Widdop, Paul Vaughan 
Sydney Roosters  Blake Ferguson, Luke Keary, James Tedesco, Latrell Mitchell 
Wests Tigers  Luke Brooks, Esan Marsters, Corey Thompson, Ben Matulino 



Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners