2019 Canterbury Cup Draw Released

Wests Tigers Canterbury Cup side, Western Suburbs Magpies, will kick off the season with a number of home games as they look to improve on their 2018 campaign under Brett Hodgson.

After a strong season last year that took the Magpies back in to the top eight, Hodgson's side will be looking to go even further this year in the new-look competition officially launched today by New South Wales Rugby League.

Round 1 of the Canterbury Cup will kick off on March 16 when Western Suburbs face Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles at Leichhardt Oval before returning to Campbelltown Sports Stadium in Rounds 2 and 3. In a boost for Wests Tigers Members and fans, all three games will be played prior to the NRL side, with entry for the day guaranteeing two (and in some cases three) games of footy!

The 2019 Canterbury Cup Grand Final will be played at the new, state-of-the-art Bankwest Stadium after a five-year agreement was locked in with the venue, with Western Suburbs set for both a home and away game there during the year.

The first of those games will be as part of a doubleheader on Easter Monday — the first NRL game day experience in the new stadium and definitely not one to miss!

In addition to this, Western Suburbs will also have two fixtures at the historic Lidcombe Oval following last year's successful return to the venue. The Magpies will face Newtown at the ground in Round 7 as well as North Sydney in Round 16.

For the full 2019 Canterbury Cup draw, please click here.

2019 CANTERBURY CUP DRAW

RD. DATE TIME OPPONENT VENUE
1 Sat., March 16 3:15pm*** Sea Eagles (H) Leichhardt Oval
2 Sun., March 24 3:55pm*** NZ Warriors (H) Campbelltown Sports Stadium
3 Sun., March 31 1:50pm*** Bulldogs (H) Campbelltown Sports Stadium
4 Sun., April 7 3:00pm Mounties (A) Aubrey Keech Reserve
5 Sun., April 14 1:10pm Panthers (H) Leichhardt Oval
6 Mon., April 22 1:45pm*** Wentworthville (A) Bankwest Stadium
7 Sun., April 28 1:10pm Newtown (H) Lidcombe Oval
8 Sun., May 5 1:10pm North Sydney (A) North Sydney Oval
9 BYE - - -
10 Sat., May 18 10:50am Bulldogs (A) Panthers Stadium
11 Sun., May 26 1:10pm Rabbitohs (A) Metricon High Performance Centre
12 Sun., June 2 1:10pm Dragons (A) Nestrata Jubilee Stadium
13 Sat., June 8 3:00pm Mounties (H) Campbelltown Sports Stadium
14 Sun., June 16 1:10pm Knights (H) Campbelltown Sports Stadium
15 Sun., June 30 1:10pm Rabbitohs (H) Campbelltown Sports Stadium
16 Sun., July 7 1:10pm North Sydney (H) Lidcombe Oval
17 Sun., July 14 1:50pm*** Wentworthville (H) Bankwest Stadium
18 Sat., July 20 3:00pm Dragons (H) Leichhardt Oval
19 Fri., July 26 3:45pm*** Knights (A) McDonald Jones Stadium
20 BYE - - -
21 Sun., August 11 1:10pm Sea Eagles (A) H.E. Laybutt Field
22 Sun., August 18 1:10pm Panthers (A) Panthers Stadium
23 Sat., August 24 12:45pm Newtown (A) Henson Park
24 Sat., August 31 9:00am NZ Warriors (A) Mount Smart Stadium


* denotes played directly before NRL match.