You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
QLD team for Game One

Wests Tigers captain Moses Mbye has been named to make his State of Origin debut for Queensland in Game I of the 2019 series to be played next Wednesday at Suncorp Stadium.

A shadow player for the squad in 2018, Mbye was confirmed by Coach Kevin Walters to fill the utility role off the bench for Queensland in 2019 after being unveiled as part of a new-look Maroons side on Monday morning.

Mbye will join Broncos duo David Fifita and Joe Ofahengaue as the debutants in the side for the series opener, with the 19-year-old Fifita making history by becoming the first player born in the 2000's to feature in the Origin arena.

His selection as a utility comes off a good recent run of form for Wests Tigers, as well as his previous experience covering a number of positions. 

As well as offering a left-footed kicking option and potential goal-kicking duties if required, Mbye can cover any position in the spine including hooker — having played there earlier this year and in the 2014 Grand Final — while the Noosa Pirates junior can also play centre having featured there previously for the Bulldogs.

The Wests Tigers fullback is confirmed to be right to play after missing his side's Round 11 loss to South Sydney with a minor groin strain picked up in training.

With his debut in Game I, Mbye will become just the eighth Wests Tigers player in history to have played State of Origin football and only the second to have played for Queensland following Scott Prince's appearance for the Maroons back in 2004.

Following other injuries to Daly Cherry-Evans, Jai Arrow and Mbye himself in recent weeks, Queensland have opted for an extended squad for the series opener, with Newcastle forward Tim Glasby named as cover as 18th Man.

With the retirement of Billy Slater, Knights superstar Kalyn Ponga dons the number one jersey while Cherry-Evans returns from injury to partner Cameron Munster in the halves, with Michael Morgan playing in his non-preferred position of centre.

Ben Hunt will start at hooker with Jake Friend ruled out with injury and Cameron Smith retired from representative football, but the Maroons may produce a late switch on game day with Josh McGuire possibly moving in to the hooking role.


1. Kalyn Ponga (Newcastle Knights)
2. Dane Gagai (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
3. Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm)
4. Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)
5. Corey Oates (Brisbane Broncos)
6. Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)
7. Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
8. Jai Arrow (Gold Coast Titans)
9. Ben Hunt (St. George-Illawarra Dragons)
10. Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)
11. Felise Kaufusi (Melbourne Storm)
12. Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
13. Josh McGuire (North Queensland Cowboys)

14. Moses Mbye (Wests Tigers)
15. Joe Ofahengaue (Brisbane Broncos)
16. Dylan Napa (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
17. David Fifita (Brisbane Broncos)
18. Tim Glasby (Melbourne Storm)

Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners