You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Wests Tigers name team for Warriors trial match

Wests Tigers Coach Michael Maguire has named a 23-man squad for Sunday's second and final trial match against the New Zealand Warriors at Rotorua International Stadium.

Kickoff for the match is at 12:00pm AEDT (2:00pm local time) with Wests Tigers set to field a full-strength side in preparation for their season opener on March 15.

After sitting out last week's trial match against the Penrith Panthers, co-captain Moses Mbye and Benji Marshall will both start against the Warriors this Sunday — joining the likes of Corey Thompson, David Nofoaluma, Luke Brooks, Chris Lawrence, Robert Jennings, Alex Twal and Josh Aloiai in the 23-man squad.

After Adam Doueihi featured in the number one jersey in last week's trial, Thompson will start at fullback this week with Doueihi instead named as part of an extended 10-man interchange list.

New recruit Joey Leilua will play his first game for the club on the right edge alongside Samoan teammate Nofoaluma while Mbye will start on the left edge inside Jennings having played there in the latter half of the 2019 campaign.

Maguire previews Warriors trial, 2020 preparations

Utility Billy Walters will start in the number nine jersey after strong performances in the club's NRL Perth Nines campaign as well as against Penrith last week, with Josh Reynolds will come off the bench after being named in jersey 15.

After starting last week against Penrith, Luciano Leilua will again start in the back row this week — featuring alongside his brother Joey on the right edge — while Luke Garner starts on the left with Aloiai at lock. The 24-year-old Aloiai returns from a hand injury suffered late last year having played 17 matches in 2019.

Of those expected to be available for selection in the trial matches, only Matt Eisenhuth has not been named as he manages a minor foot injury, but will be available for selection in the club's season opener on March 15.

Wests Tigers Canterbury Cup side, Western Suburbs Magpies, will also feature in a trial match over the weekend as they face off against Mounties/Bulldogs at New Era Stadium on Saturday, February 29. A full list of players to feature in that match, as well as the club's Jersey Flegg side for their trial against North Sydney on Friday, February 28, will be made available closer to kickoff.


1. Corey Thompson
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Joseph Leilua
4. Moses Mbye (capt.)
5. Robert Jennings
6. Benji Marshall (capt.)
7. Luke Brooks 
8. Thomas Mikaele
9. Billy Walters
10. Alex Twal
11. Luke Garner
12. Luciano Leilua
13. Josh Aloiai

14. Michael Chee Kam
15. Josh Reynolds
16. Adam Doueihi
17. Oliver Clark
18. Chris Lawrence
19. Alex Seyfarth
20. Chris McQueen
21. Zane Musgrove
22. Tommy Talau
23. Elijah Taylor

Coach: Michael Maguire