You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Russell Packer selected for Maori All Stars

Wests Tigers prop Russell Packer has been called up to the Maori All Stars squad to take on the Indigenous All Stars team.

Having initially not been named for the match, Packer has been a late inclusion to the squad by Maori Coach David Kidwell.

Packer was called up to replace a handful of Melbourne Storm players, who were ruled out of the game due to the five-day COVID-19 lockdown in Victoria, announced on Friday.

It will be the 31-year-old prop’s second match for the New Zealand Maori side, having first played for the team in 2010 against England.

Packer has also represented the New Zealand national side on seven occasions with his last Test match being in the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

The All Stars game will take place in Townsville on February 20.


1. Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad (Canberra Raiders)
2. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
3. Joseph Manu (Sydney Roosters)
4. Dylan Walker (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
5. Patrick Herbert (Gold Coast Titans)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Benji Marshall (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
8. Russell Packer (Wests Tigers)
9. Jeremy Marshall-King (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
10. James Fisher-Harris (Penrith Panthers)
11. Briton Nikora (Cronulla Sharks)
12. Jordan Riki (Brisbane Broncos)
13. Joseph Tapine (Canberra Raiders)

14. Issac Luke (Brisbane Broncos)
15. Emry Pere (North Queensland Cowboys)
16. Zane Musgrove (Wests Tigers)
17. Jackson Topine (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
18. Esan Marsters (North Queensland Cowboys)
19. Bailey Simonsson (Canberra Raiders)
20. Daejarn Asi (North Queensland Cowboys)

Coach: David Kidwell