You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Wests Tigers five-eighth Mitchell Moses has tonight been awarded the Club’s 2016 Player of the Year Award.

Moses was presented the honour at the Club’s Presentation Night, which was held in front of 400 guests at Le Montage.

The 21-year-old was also took out the Player’s Player Award after a scintillating season that included six tries, 18 try-assists and 15 line-breaks.

Two more Wests Tigers Life Members were also inducted on the night, with 2016 vice-captains Dene Halatau and Chris Lawrence joining the prestigious group - which also includes Robbie Farah, Benji Marshall, Mark O’Neill, John Skandalis, Tim Sheens and Brett Hodgson.

Halatau, who played his final NRL game on Sunday, notched up 180 matches for the Club and was part of Wests Tigers’ 2005 premiership-winning side.

Lawrence has played 195 first grade games for the Club since making his NRL debut in 2006 and is second on Wests Tigers’ all-time try-scoring list with 72 four-pointers.

In other NRL awards, forward Josh Aloiai was rewarded for his stellar debut season, taking out the Rookie of the Year gong.

The 20-year-old played every game during the 2016 season, becoming the first ever Wests Tigers player to achieve this feat in his rookie year.

The Member’s Player of the Year Award went to dynamic fullback James Tedesco, who scored 14 tries in 17 matches and went on to make his State of Origin debut.

Jordan Grant (Player of the Year) and Tyler Cassel (Player’s Player) took out the honours for the Intrust Super Premiership side.

In Holden Cup, towering prop forward Taniela Paseka picked up both awards - Player of the Year and Player’s Player - in what has been an outstanding debut season from the 18-year-old.

The contributions of both Julie Luke (Western Suburbs JRL) and Jennie Webster (Balmain JRL) were also recognised through the annual Wests Tigers Woman of the Year award.

Matt Ballin took out the Community Achievement award for his enormous efforts off the field throughout the season, while Gear Manager Vince Marando received the prestigious honour of Wests Tigers Club Person of the Year.

Wests Tigers CEO Justin Pascoe congratulated the award winners and highlighted the importance of recognising their achievements.

“On behalf of the Club I would like to congratulate all the award winners from tonight’s Presentation dinner,” said Pascoe. “There was a tremendous amount of success achieved by a range of individuals across the Club and it was important that this is recognised.

“We also inducted two great servants of the Club in Dene and Chris as Life Members tonight, with both having made enormous contributions to the Wests Tigers over a number of years,” he said.



Player of the Year — Mitchell Moses

Player’s Player — Mitchell Moses

Rookie of the Year — Josh Aloiai

Members Player of the Year — James Tedesco


Player of the Year — Jordan Grant

Player’s Player — Tyler Cassel


Player of the Year — Taniela Paseka

Player’s Player — Taniela Paseka


Community Achievement — Matt Ballin

Club Person of the Year — Vince Marando

Woman of the Year — Julie Luke & Jennie Webster


Dene Halatau

Chris Lawrence


Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners