You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Canterbury Cup Team Announcement: Round 17

Western Suburbs Magpies Canterbury Cup Coach Brett Hodgson has named his side to take on the Wentworthville Magpies this Sunday for their Round 17 clash at Bankwest Stadium.

Kickoff for the match is at 1:50pm AEST with the match taking place as a curtain-raiser to the NRL fixture between Wests Tigers and Parramatta on the day.

After a last-start loss to the North Sydney Bears on Sunday, Hodgson has named a new-look halves combination for this week's game with youngster Max Burey slotting in at five-eighth alongside 2019 Development Player Jock Madden.

Watson Heleta starts at fullback with Dylan Smith back on the bench, while Tommy Talau and Alex Seyfarth return from their NSW U/20's commitments to join the side.

After a long lay-off, Russell Packer has been named at prop to make his return from injury with Luke Garner named in the back row and will captain the side.


1. Watson Heleta
2. Harry O'Toole
3. Tommy Talau
4. Kane McQuiggin
5. Kane Bradley
6. Max Burey
7. Jock Madden
8. Russell Packer
9. Soni Luke
10. Patrice Siolo
11. Luke Garner (capt.)
12. Sam McIntyre
13. Alex Seyfarth

14. Dylan Smith
15. Elia Faatui
16. Jack Miller
19. Ray Jankovic
20. Dylan Clifford
23. Bilal Maarbani

Coach: Brett Hodgson

Acknowledgement of Country

Wests Tigers respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Corporate Partners

View All Partners