You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - International Rugby League -Downer Test Match.

Round - May Representative Round.

Teams - Australian Kangaroos v New Zealand Kiwis.

Date - Friday 6th of May 2016.

Venue - Hunter Stadium, Newcastle, NSW.

Photographer - Paul Barkley

Australian Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga spoke to the media on Tuesday after the announcement of his squad for the 2016 Four Nations tournament in late October.

As well as discussing the non-selection of players such as Semi Radradra, Andrew Fifita, Paul Gallen and Corey Parker, Meninga spoke about the decision not to select Wests Tigers fullback and 2016 Dally M Fullback of the Year, James Tedesco, in the squad.

"He [Tedesco] was very, very close [to selection," Meninga admitted.

"When we sit around the table and try to select a team of 24 players to go overseas, you've got to make sure you get the mix right and the balance right. Positionally, you've got to get the numbers right so it's very difficult to put all the players available in the final squad.

"James was a part of that.

"We chose obviously Darius Boyd, because he is the premiere fullback at the moment, and Matt Moylan, and unfortunately he [Tedesco] misses out on selection in the side.

"He is not out of the picture, and he'll no doubt be vying for that position again next year."

See what Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga, ARLC Chairman John Grant and NRL CEO Todd Greenberg had to say about the selection of the team at today's announcement above!

Don't miss Wests Tigers' first ever Charity Ball on October 29 to help support beyondblue!


Darius Boyd (Broncos)

Shannon Boyd (Raiders)

Boyd Cordner (Roosters)

Cooper Cronk (Storm)

Josh Dugan (Dragons)

Blake Ferguson (Roosters)

Jake Friend (Roosters)

Tyson Frizell (Dragons)

Matt Gillett (Broncos)

Valentine Holmes (Sharks)

Greg Inglis (Rabbitohs)

David Klemmer (Bulldogs)

James Maloney (Sharks)

Josh Mansour (Panthers)

Trent Merrin (Panthers)

Michael Morgan (Cowboys)

Matt Moylan (Panthers)

Justin O'Neill (Cowboys)

Josh Papalii (Raiders)

Matt Scott (Cowboys)

Cameron Smith (Storm)

Sam Thaiday (Broncos)

Jonathan Thurston (Cowboys)

Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Coach: Mal Meninga



October 29 — Australia vs. Scotland, KC Lightstream Stadium (Hull), 7:00am AEDT

November 6 — New Zealand vs. Australia, Ricoh Arena (Coventry), 7:00am AEDT

November 14 — England vs. Australia, London Olympic Stadium (London), 1:00am AEDT

November 21 — Four Nations Final TBC, Anfield (Liverpool), 1:30am AEDT